Daily Operation

Nicknaming

Ever since Ellison left the hospital, we’ve encountered the question, “So what are you gonna call her?” Perhaps Ellison isn’t good enough and you’d like to try another name? It’s strange. We spent all of this time coming up with what we thought was the perfect name and then we’re suggested to change it. I know a three-syllable name is challenging, but if it’s that freaking hard, feel free to drop one syllable and call her ELL-SON if that’s easier. Do we select names solely on how well they’ll nickname? Like her name is ________ but we’ll call her __________. Why wouldn’t you name them what you’ll call them or call them what you named them? I get it though. I had a few different nicknames but because you couldn’t shorten my name any further (real name is “Jeffrey,” but no one calls anyone “Jeffrey”), they called me “Shakes.” The others never really lasted. “Shakes” came from Danny who called me that as an abbreviation “Shakespeare.” But most nicknames are at least a derivative of the real name.

ROBERT but we’ll call him BOB

BARTHOLOMEW but we’ll call him BART

CHADWICK but we’ll call him CHAD

TODD but we’ll call him BUTTWAD

It’s a natural process. We abbreviate and acronymize everything. Rarely do we call it what it is anymore. “Nickname” comes from the Old English word “ekename” which means “additional name” and it was then it was changed to “nekename” over time. And while my lovely wife and I would still agree that Ellison’s a great name, I know that even titling the site “Raising Elle” has led some to start calling her Elle. Guess I kinda brought that on ourselves. But let’s go ahead and explore some of the nickname possibilities. It’s inevitable that it’s gonna happen so we might as well explore all of the viable options.

ELLE /el/: Again, it’s the popular choice only by virtue of this site. I’m not sure if it would be my frontrunner. Perhaps, the name but not the spelling. There’s something about Elle that’s particularly too girlish. I think of Elle McPherson. Supermodels. Lace. Fluffy things. If I was on $25,000 Pyramid, this would be in the “THINGS THAT ARE PRETTY.” Maybe too pretty. The “e” on the end is probably what bothers me the most. It makes it look French. There’s nothing wrong with the French, but my heritage is German/Dutch. Elle Wyrick is just a little weird in that sense. Also, I’m not very fond of “silent” letters. I’d go by Jef if I could, but that’s not my name. Ellison has two “L’s” because it simply looks better and one “L” might have led to pronunciations similar to “ELI.” We didn’t want that. So that’s “Elle.” Pretty, but maybe too pretty.

EL /el/: If you’re gonna go with Elle, I’d prefer this spelling. It’s bare bones. Where the spelling is the phonetical spelling. Two-letter names are so gangsta. I mean, half of “Elle” is unnecessary. The only thing it has going for it is that it’s an anagram.

E.J. /ē-‘jā/: Initials. Ellison Jayne shortened to E.J. Kinda like it for when she’s a kid. Sounds like something you’d yell at a soccer game or softball game, but not something that you’d use around the house.

ELLIE J /el-ē-‘jā/: Doesn’t make a ton of sense to have a nickname that’s as many syllables as her real name, but there’s this option to which is a variant on Ellison by adding a “e” that doesn’t even exist to create a long “e” sound in there when paired with the “i” and then her middle initial. My mother does this with me by calling me “Jeffrey D” so that’s probably the derivative there.

ELLS /els/: I tend to pluralize things that don’t need to be plural. This is where this one comes from. Ellison is not only “Allison but with an ‘e'”, but it’s also an extension of the name “Ellis” which is man’s name and if you dropped the “on” from the end you’d end up with a man’s name, but if you knock out the “i”, you’re left with the more interesting and all the sudden plural “Ells.” I likey.

ELLA /el-‘uh/: Ella is much like “Elle.” It’s almost too pretty. Too dainty. The only reason I like it is that there’s the musical connection to Ella Fitzgerald, but then again, I don’t sit around listening Ella Fitzgerald. Not my style, but it’s a good nickname. Neatly wrapped with a bow on top. It’s cute. It’d be cute until she socks some boy in the mouth on the playground for being mean and then her name’ll be “Ells.” I think when you throw your first punch, you can’t use “Ella” anymore. And I wouldn’t have a problem with a thrown punch at this juncture so long as it’s justified. Again, at this juncture.

Those are your options. We’re not taking on any of them at this time so if you ask us what we’re calling her, we’re still calling her by the name on her birth certificate. But she just rolled over. You never know, nicknames could come forth quickly. This girl’s moving fast.

 

Standard

5 thoughts on “Nicknaming

  1. pam says:

    I like Buttwad. If you’re pla n ing on more kids, then u might as well get her jsed to the name calling….RIGHT JEFF???????

  2. dale says:

    Ellie Jane, or Ellie. No, those were not choices, I make my own. In all honesty, my opinion is that nicknames should occur naturally, they should be something that you just kinda fall into organically. Or they should be earned (Ells) but no punches have been thrown at anyone but you, and you can’t just name her Cholic, now can you? Cas used to be Chunkalump, now he has several (Cas-o, Casafrass, Caspian). Drake is Drakers of Drakie, used to be Drakiecornflakie. Alternate was Drakiechocolatecakie. I digress. Ellie.

  3. Carole says:

    How about just “L”? If you want short & sweet, it has the same pronunciation in the least amount of letters.

    Kinda like the lady that named her girl La-a (& no the dash is not silent!) LOL

    We had nicknames from our German heritage…. I was called Snicklefritz by my father (don’t even think of calling me that at work!!), which is actually a boy’s nickname, but can be used for any mischievous & chatterbox child.

    My brothers were Vitcup (towhead) & Schovonauk (tussles, not a fighter) … these could be totally misspelled & completely wrong definitions, you’d have to know my dad! :oj

    I don’t remember ever hearing our real names from dad until we were teenagers.

Leave a Reply

