Daily Operation

It’s the New Style

As we began transitioning to our new home, there were a few who asked what was going to happen to The Root Down. While the future of The Root Down as a blog is still in question, I can tell you my intentions to keep it around as a brand are certain. Not that we have necessarily global recognition with The Root Down, but it’s just difficult for me to completely ground something from top to bottom that has been an integral part of my life for the last five years. I’m a sensitive guy and a sucka for working it out. It’s kinda like that guy in the office that isn’t as good as the new guy, he’s not as fast, he’s not as sharp, he’s starting to turn in work late and struggle, but he’s been there for 20 years. And, instead of sending him to the door, you give him the corner office.

I spent alot of time trying to make The Root Down as a brand look mean, slick. One time, I fashioned the words THE ROOT DOWN into the shape of a glock nine. Design-wise, it was definitely ill. Unmistakably. But as a father-to-be, putting the image of a glock on a t-shirt isn’t quite the image you wanna throw out there. Not only that, the idea was a little played. Even though, Danny didn’t seem to think so.

So, the above “letter block” design is ushering in the new style. Yep, just like the Beasties. We just needed to change this up a bit. We’ll relocate the blog. The address is yet to be determined. Change some of the design elements. Change the content. Come September, I’m not gonna be the same man. It doesn’t make sense to me to treat The Root Down like an extension of the same project. This ain’t the same thing.

The above design is available on a beautiful canvas tote like all them soccer moms carry around. Take it to the store, the pool, the gym, the record store. Perfect for taking your crochet projects on the road. Yeah, that’s my steez. Crochet. You’ll see some other new projects at the store over the next few months celebrating the new look, the new direction. If there’s something you don’t see, holler at me. I can get it put together for purchase at CafePress. Yeah, mommies, I gotta bib design coming. Infant shirts. Hoodies for your little hoodlum. If there’s one thing I learned from the music industry it’s that merch is where the business is. Not that I’m looking to make a killing off this game. I’m actually pretty slim on the margins. Any profits are probably more of a hassle than it’s worth, but irregardless, there’s a little profit there. Full disclosure here. I mean, if it can put a few diapers on this Gummy Bear along the way, that’d be nice.

Be good to your neighbors. Love y’mothers.

Standard

Leave a Reply

